Group President, Group Managing Director & Editor In Chief: Dr.Shelly Ahmed

Saturday, October 05, 2013

Post-Bifurcation, State Will Remain As 'Andhra Pradesh'

By M H Ahssan / INN Live

Andhra Pradesh may be divided, but it will not cease to exist. Seemandhra, or what will be left over after carving out the Telangana state, will retain the name, as a consolation prize.

As per the Cabinet note on Telangana prepared by the Union Home Ministry and accessed by INN, it was proposed that the new state be named as ‘Telangana’ and the name of residuary state may be retained as Andhra Pradesh.
According to the Cabinet note, along with the Hyderabad as common capital for both the states for a period of 10 years, the existing Andhra Pradesh High Court may exercise its jurisdiction over both the states till the time of setting up separate High Courts. After formation of both the states, arrangements will be made in consultation with the Chief Justice of India for setting up separate High Courts within respective jurisdictions of both of the states. However, no timeframe was given for the purpose.

After the creation of Telangana, the existing Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council will be reconstituted for the residuary state of Andhra Pradesh. The existing State Legislature Council has a bicameral legislature and the Legislative Council has 90 members. Whether Telangana may also have a bicameral legislature may be decided according to the wishes of new Legislative Assembly. However, the number of seats in the Legislative Councils will be decided separately.

After the separation, the Legislative Assembly of the Telangana will have 119 members and the residuary state of Andhra Pradesh will have the remaining 175 members. The lone sitting nominated member of the Legislative Assembly of the existing state of Andhra Pradesh may be deemed to have been nominated to the legislative Assembly of Telangana.

The Cabinet note proposed that Speaker of existing Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly Nadendla Manohar shall be the Speaker of the residuary Andhra Pradesh. 

As per the Cabinet note, Telangana will be allocated seven seats and the residuary state of Andhra Pradesh may be allocated 11 seats in the Rajya Sabha, totaling 18 seats for both the states. Also, Telangana would have 17 seats in Lok Sabha and 25 for the residuary state, thus totaling 42 seats for both the states.

All-India cadre officers such as IAS, IPS and IFS officers may continue to serve both the states for some time.
Post a Comment